Safe and Green Flooring


Four Types of Certificates to look for

In 2008, the United States Congress passed a law prohibiting commercial activities in plants and their by-products that were illegally sourced. This law is what is referred to as the Lacey Act. This law is aimed at combating illegal logging and trading in plants. It is essential that you understand what this law is all about and what you need to look out for in your flooring choices in relation to it. There are basically some certificates you need to look out for when choosing your flooring which is in connection to the Lacey Act.

1. Lacey Act

The Lacey Act is a piece of legislation that was passed in 1900 by the Congress of the United States of America. It basically bans trafficking wildlife that is deemed illegal or endangered species. The act was later amended in 2008 to incorporate plants and their associated products like paper and timber. It effectively meant no timber would be sourced from illegal sources. As such, it made all floor products that are manufactured by the use of such timber null and void.

As stated, the act makes the exploitation of several plants and animals illegal. These include rare species of trees, some fishes, and a host of wildlife species that are considered vulnerable. It also prohibits the sale, transportation, and trade in any species of the aforementioned organisms that have been illegally sourced or acquired from foreign nations.

Under the act, the source of the commodities concerned, their countries or origins, and their species have to be declared. This is to ascertain whether they indeed fall within the confines of the parameters set forth by the act. This information is, therefore, necessary for the purposes of supervision and verification. It is also necessary to ascertain the compliance of those species with the said standards.


The term CARB stands for California Air Resources Board. It is the primary state agency that protects the health of the public from the harmful side effects of air pollution. It does so by primarily guiding the activities of the 35 locally-based air pollution control districts. It also leads the efforts of the state in mitigating the global climate change.

3. FSC

The term FSC stands for the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC). It is an international not-for-profit and multi-stakeholder organization that was established in 1993. Its plays the promoting responsible management of the world’s scarce forest resources.

It achieves this aim by setting the standards that the various stakeholders in the forest industry have to adhere to. It also certified and labels the forests as ‘eco-friendly’ upon attaining particular thresholds. This protects consumers from any adverse repercussions of consuming forestry products that are bred in undesirable locations or environmental conditions.

4. ISO 14001/ISO 9001

ISO 14001 is the international standard that sets the threshold for effective management of the environmental systems. It lays forth a framework that oversees the activities of the various organizations within the field of forestry. It does not establish any standards that the said stakeholders ought to adhere to as is the case with other forms of certifications.

The ISO 9000 family, on the other hand, is designed to aid the various stakeholders and organizations to satisfy the needs and expectations of consumers. They also aid those stakeholders in fulfilling the standards that govern the regulatory and statutory requirements for the various products or services. These two standards are jointly adopted and implemented by more than a million organizations scattered in some 175 countries worldwide.


A Report on Safety Considerations in the Flooring Industry
Article Name
A Report on Safety Considerations in the Flooring Industry
Our hardwood flooring is manufactured from timber that is harvested under sustainable forest management practices. We are proud to be Lacey Act compliant.
Publisher Name
FERMA Flooring
Publisher Logo
Where to Buy?